Vital Records

Online Vital Records Request

You can submit an Vital Records Request online. 

Birth/Death/Marriage Copies

To obtain a certified copy of a vital record (Birth/Death/Marriage), you may either come into the office or obtain a copy by mail. Please send a request with a certified check or money order payable to:

Moore County Register of Deeds Office
P.O. Box 1210
Carthage, NC 28327

Fees for certified copies are $10 each and uncertified copies are $.25 each. Please send a self-addressed stamped envelope. Your request will not be processed without a photocopy of a Valid ID.

ID Accepted:

  • Valid Drivers License
  • Valid State ID card
  • Valid Passport
  • Military ID card

We cannot accept requests by email.
Print an Application for Certified Copy of a Vital Record (PDF).

North Carolina General Statute 130A-93 specifies who is entitled to obtain a certified copy:

  • Yourself
  • Parent, Stepparent
  • Grandparent
  • Brother/Sister
  • Current Spouse
  • Child, Stepchild, Grandchild
  • Authorized agent, attorney, or legal representative

Birth Certificate:

  • Full name on Certificate
  • Date of Birth
  • Parent's names (with mother maiden)
  • Relationship to the person whose certificate is requested
  • Your signature

Death Certificate:

  • Full name of Deceased
  • Date of Death
  • Relationship to the person whose certificate is requested
  • Your signature

Marriage Certificate:

  • Full name of Groom and Bride and/or Applicant 1 and Applicant 2
  • Date of Marriage
  • Relationship to the person whose certificate is requested
  • Your signature

Under North Carolina Law (G.S. 130A-26A), it is a felony violation to fraudulently request a certified copy of a vital record or obtain, possess, sell, furnish, use, or attempt to use for any purpose of deception a North Carolina birth certificate.

Marriage License Information

Moore County Register of Deeds
26 Courthouse Square, Carthage, NC
2nd Floor Vital Records
Phone: 910-947-6370 select option 1

Application Information & Instructions

The Access Online Marriage Application. (Online application expires after 30 days)

  • Applicants 21 years of age and beyond must provide a valid drivers license or photo identification issued by a U.S. Government Agency or State Agency (State ID card, Passport, or Military ID)
  • Applicants under 18 years of age must provide a certified birth certificate and a state or federal picture ID.
  • Both groom and bride or applicant 1 and applicant 2 must provide Social Security numbers or an affidavit form that is completed by the applicant and notarized. Printable Affidavit Form:
  • Applicants who are 16 to 17 years of age must have parental consent from a parent with full or joint custody or a person, agency or institution having legal custody or legal guardian of said applicant. Documentation may be required to determine custody depending on circumstances.
  • Applicants who are 14 to 15 years of age must provide a certified copy of a court order issued by a district court judge authorizing the marriage. Please contact the Register of Deeds office at 910-947-6370 for further requirements and/or questions.
  • Marriage License Fee: $60
  • Certified Marriage copy: $10
  • If previously married, must provide the date of divorce or death if applicable. If less than one year, please provide a copy of the document.
  • Marriage Licenses are issued between the hours of 8 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday excluding holidays in the Register of Deeds Office, 2nd Floor, 26 Courthouse Sq, Carthage, NC
  • Marriages may take place anywhere in the State of North Carolina but the license must be returned to the county of issuance.
  • Marriage License valid for 60 days in North Carolina

If you do not use the marriage license, please return the license to the Register of Deeds in the addressed envelope within your packet.

To schedule an appointment for marriage license, please click here.