Board of Commissioners


  • 1st Tuesday monthly at 10:30 a.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday monthly at 5:30 p.m.
  • 1 Courthouse Square
    2nd Floor, Historic Courthouse
    Carthage, NC 28327

Exceptions to note:  Occasionally, there is closed session business and the Board convenes an hour earlier, but the public portion of the meeting will still begin at 10:30am or 5:30 p.m., respectively. The second meeting in September has been rescheduled to the fourth Tuesday at 5:30pm. The first meeting in December is held the first Monday at 10:30 a.m. The first meeting in July and the second meeting in December are not held.  The January 2024 meetings will be held the second and fourth Tuesdays at 10:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m., respectively.  For the complete FY24 regular meeting schedule, please click here.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

The Commissioners

The Commissioners

Pictured L-R: John Ritter, Jim Von Canon, Nick Picerno, Frank Quis, Kurt Cook

Meet the Commissioners

  1. Nick Picerno

    Chairman / District II

  1. Frank Quis

    District IV

  1. Jim Von Canon

    District I

  1. Kurt Cook

    Vice Chairman / District V

  1. John Ritter

    District III

Appointed Officials

Boards / Committees

The Board of Commissioners invites citizens of Moore County to participate in governmental decisions by serving as members of the various boards/committees that provide advice and assistance to the governing body and administration.The Board relies on volunteers to meet this essential need for Moore County. Please consider joining our ranks and making a difference in our community. Together, we can provide exceptional services that make Moore County a premier community in which to live, work, and raise a family.

The appointment of members to the various boards/committees is governed by the standard policy for appointments, board/committee by-laws and, in some cases, by North Carolina General Statutes. The Clerk to the Board is the point of contact for the administration of the appointment process and the maintenance of applicable records and can be contacted at 910-947-6403 or Email the Clerk to the Board.


  • Gayle Alston, Chief Court Counselor
    Term expires: February 2025
  • James C. "Buddy" Howell, Commissioner Appointee
    Term expires: November 2025
  • Joseph Keen, Faith Community
    Term expires: March 2025
  • Miriam King, Health Director Designee
    Term expires: October 2024
  • Tony Kirk, Parks and Recreation
    Term expires: February 2025
  • Laura May, Commissioner Appointee
    Term expires: March 2025
  • LaShunda Maynor, Moore County Schools
    Term expires: August 2025
  • Annette McGraw, Commissioner Appointee
    Term expires: October 2024
  • Chris Morgan, County Manager's Designee 
    Term expires: June 2025
  • Shirlyn Morrison-Sims, Commissioner Appointee
    Term expires: February 2024
  • Kami Perez, Substance Abuse Professional
    Term expires: October 2025
  • Tori Price, Sheriff's Designee
    Term expires: April 2025
  • David Richmond, DSS Director Designee
    Term expires: August 2025
  • John Ritter, County Commissioner
  • Marco Rotting, Commissioner Appointee
    Term expires: August 2025
  • Lindsey Smith, Commissioner Appointee
    Term expires: February 2025
  • Mary Spell, Mental Health
    Term expires: June 2025
  • Ciara Suros, Nonprofit
    Term expires: April 2024
  • Beth Tanner, Chief District Court Judge Designee
    Term expires: February 2025
  • Clara Tanner, Youth
    Term expires: July 2025
  • Abbagayle Wood, Youth
    Term expires: July 2024


The Juvenile Crime Prevention Council assesses the needs of juveniles in the community, evaluates resources, and plans for unmet needs; evaluates the performance of juvenile services/programs; increases public awareness of the causes of delinquency and prevention efforts; develops intervention strategies and risk assessments for at-risk youth; provides funds for services for treatment/counseling/parenting/rehabilitation; and plans permanent funding streams for delinquency prevention programs. 

The Council's regular meetings are held at the Rick Rhyne Public Safety Center, 2nd Floor Community Room, 302 S. McNeill St., Carthage, NC 28327.  The regular meetings for FY24 will begin at 8:30am on the following dates: 8/1/23, 10/3/23 (canceled), 12/5/23, 2/6/23, 4/2/24, 5/7/24 (full council and membership committee), and 6/4/24.


  • Tom Adams
    Term expires: June 2026
  • Craig Goodnight
    Term expires: May 2025
  • Michael Kantorowski
    Term expires: April 2024
  • Jerrell Seawell
    Term expires: June 2026
  • David Zmiewsky
    Term expires: May 2025


The ABC Board operates in accordance with N.C.G.S. 18B-700 and is responsible for the operation of the ABC system in Moore County.

Terms of membership are for three years.

To learn more about the ABC Board, click here.