Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
First you will need to have your medical provider give clearance for you to participate in our exercise program that at times is unsupervised. We also need to know if you have any limitations in order for you to exercise safely here. We have an Medical Clearance Letter (PDF) available for you to have signed by your medical provider.
The Fitness Room and group exercise classes are offered to any Moore County resident aged 50 and over.
First you will need to have your medical provider give clearance for you to participate in our exercise program that at times is unsupervised. We also need to know if you have any limitations in order for you to exercise safely here. We have an informative letter (PDF) available for you to have signed by your medical provider.
After you have obtained your medical clearance you must attend a New Member Orientation before participating. Orientations are one on one with our Fitness Coordinator to ensure effectiveness.
At the orientation you will complete a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire, sign a Release and Notice of Privacy Practices. You will have the opportunity to go over the different machines in the Fitness Room and learn how they work. Your membership card is assigned and the orientation is complete!
The fee for using the Fitness Room is $2 per day. There is no annual "membership" fees or contracts, however we do offer a pre-pay system. With the purchase of $20, you get an additional day free and for $40, you get two additional days for free.
The SEC Fitness Room is open:
No, tax value is based on current market values as of January 1st of the revaluation year. Property values are not adjusted up or down based on market conditions that occur between revaluation years.
The Land Records Section of the Listing Division maintains ownership records and the Residential/Commercial Appraisal Section of the Appraisal Division maintains value data. Listing and appraisals are maintained in accordance with North Carolina General Statutes. The taxpayer is responsible for notifying the Tax Department when improvements are made to real property; however, the Tax Department does obtain permit information from the various permitting entities within the County.
In a revaluation year tax value is reflective of current market value. Tax value is based on market data and market sales that occur up to the date of the revaluation. As time progresses and changes in the market occur, tax value becomes less and less of an indicator of current market value.
Obtaining a construction permit or recording mapping changes will result in a visit from an appraiser in most cases. At the time of the visit, the appraiser will review the entire property data to ensure accuracy. A taxpayer may also request a visit at anytime and recorded transactions whereby the sale amount falls outside a specified tolerance of the tax assessment may also result in an appraisal visit.
The most recent revaluation was effective January 1, 2023 and the next revaluation is scheduled for the year 2027 and every four (4) years thereafter unless market conditions indicate a different schedule is necessary or North Carolina General Statutes require a different schedule.
Dwellings, commercial buildings or any change to existing buildings that adds to the heated square footage; also, attachments such as decks, porches, patios, etc. are considered improvements as are storage buildings, pools, barns, etc.
“Mass Appraisal” method is used, which is the process of valuing a group of properties as of a given date, using standard methods, employing common data, and allowing for statistical testing. In determining value, all three approaches to value, cost, market, and income are considered.
The parcel mapping may be viewed using the Moore County GIS site. Also, each property’s Field Review Document and Property Record Card can be viewed using the GIS site. Taxpayers may also visit or call the Moore County Tax Department’s Customer Service office 1-910-947-2255 to review property information.
The Moore County Board of Commissioners consists of five members who are elected to serve staggered four-year terms. Each commissioner represents and resides in a district, but is elected at-large. The Board is the general governing body of the County and has three primary functions: 1) Establishment of overall fiscal policy through its taxing and spending powers; 2) Regulation of private conduct through its ordinance making powers; and 3) General administration.
The Board regularly meets twice monthly on the first Tuesday at 10:30am and the third Tuesday at 5:30pm. When a closed session is necessary, the Board may convene an hour earlier, but the public portion of the meeting would still be at 10:30am or 5:30pm, respectively. The Board does not hold the second meeting in December or the first meeting in July. In 2024, the January meetings will be on the second and fourth Tuesdays due to holidays. There is also a regular pre-agenda conference call attended by two commissioners the Wednesday before the regular meetings. Additional information regarding the meetings schedule is available on the commissioners' section of the County website, or by contacting the Clerk to the Board.
Unless specified otherwise, the Board holds its meetings on the 2nd floor of the Historic Courthouse in Carthage, North Carolina.
All meetings of the Board of Commissioners are open to the public.
The Board has a public comment period at the beginning of each meeting. Individuals may sign up to speak thirty minutes prior to the beginning of the meeting. The Chair will individually recognize speakers, who will be given three minutes to make comments. Click here for the public comment period procedures.
Visit the Agendas and Minutes section of the County website to view archived items. Call or email the Clerk to the Board for assistance.
You may click below to view the Code of Ordinances, or contact the Clerk at 910-947-6403. The Unified Development Ordinance is adopted by reference and is also available by contacting the Clerk or on the Planning Department's webpage.
Code of Ordinances
Yes. If you are an unaffiliated voter you can choose to vote in either the Democratic, Republican, or Libertarian Primary. You must choose only one party's primary. Participating in a partisan primary will not affect your status as an unaffiliated voter.Note: If you choose to vote an unaffiliated ballot you will only vote for non-partisan offices. (ie. Judges or School board)
All polls are open for voting from 6:30 am to 7:30 pm.
Once your registration has been processed you will be mailed a voter information card that will list your polling place. Your polling place is assigned based on the precinct in which you reside.
If you are not sure of your polling place or you have moved from the residence address currently listed on your voting record, you may call our office: 910-947-3868 or check the status of your voter information online.
On Election Day, you should vote in your assigned precinct in order to make sure you are issued a ballot that contains all races for which you are eligible to vote.
If you go to the wrong precinct, you may be required to vote a provisional ballot as you will not be listed on the books at that precinct. Please plan to allow yourself extra time if you choose to go to the wrong precinct, as you will be required to fill out all necessary forms before you are issued a provisional ballot.
If you have moved within Moore County more than 30 days prior to an election and failed to notify the Board of Elections before the registration deadline you may:
The voter may request an absentee ballot by mail. See below for more information on absentee voting.If the voter chooses to vote on Election Day or at an One-Stop Absentee Site and is unable to enter the polling place, they may vote outside the polling place in their car. This is called "curbside voting". Each polling place has a designated area for curbside voting that is marked with a sign. When you pull up to the sign you will run over a rubber hose that sets off a buzzer inside the polling place to alert precinct officials that they have a curbside voter.
Learn more about curbside voting.
Any registered voter in Moore County may request an absentee ballot by mail or you may vote at a One-Stop voting location.
Learn more about absentee voting.
The due date is September 1. A discount is offered by the county if paid by August 31. (Aberdeen, Cameron, Carthage, Pinehurst, Southern Pines, Taylortown, Vass, and Whispering Pines municipalities do not allow a 2% discount). Taxpayers have until January 5th to pay without a penalty. Please contact your town to find out if they offer a discount as well.
Yes, partial payments can be made anytime before taxes become past due. If taxes are past due, you should contact the collections office to set up payment arrangements (CONTACT US).
Yes, prepayment amounts would be based on the previous year’s tax value and tax rates and would be subject to settlement when the value, rates, and bill are finalized.
Yes, as part of our commitment to providing citizens with efficient, convenient service, Moore County Tax Department has partnered with Municipal Services Bureau( MSB) to offer payment of taxes over the internet at Pay Taxes page or by telephone by calling 1-833-303-6673. Payments can be made by e-check, or debit or credit card. Visa, Master Card, American Express, and Discover are accepted. A one time convenience fee will be assessed by MSB when making payment.
North Carolina law states that all taxable real property shall be listed and billed in the name of the owner as of January 1st each year. If this is a bill for real property that was sold on or after January 1st, you may mail the tax bill directly to the new owner. It is Moore County Tax Department policy to provide a copy of the tax bill to the new owner as soon as possible. If you purchased property after January 1 and did not receive that specific tax bill, please call our office 910-947-2255.
Foreclosures by the Moore County Tax Collector's Office are performed by Zacchaeus Legal Services, pursuant to North Carolina General Statute §105-374. Tax foreclosures are posted approximately four weeks prior to the sale date.
The sales are conducted by Zacchaeus Legal Services in the lobby of the Moore County Courts Facility. The properties are sold at a public auction to the highest bidder.
You or a representative should be present to place a bid; however the bid is left open for 10 days for upset bids. The upset bid process is handled by the Moore County Clerk of Court’s office.
There is no set schedule. Scheduling is posted on the Zaccheus Legal Services website.
Buying tax liens is no longer legal in North Carolina and property ownership is only changed by recorded deed or will.
The foreclosure process may be started in April of the year in which the tax bill becomes delinquent.
Mortgage companies are provided tax bills upon request. Please contact your mortgage company or refer to your mortgage statement for further details.
The Tax Office issues beer/wine license, however, the license must first be obtained from the NC ABC Board and the municipality in which you are located, if applicable. Copies of those licenses are required by our office. Beer and Wine licenses can be obtained from our collections office. Questions can be directed to 910-947-4116. Further information can be obtained on starting a new business by visiting www.nccommerce.com.
Every six months, an unannounced inspection is conducted by Environmental Health.
No. While the Health Department is responsible for inspections, the license is actually issued by the NC Division of Child Development.
Yes, a placard is posted in each daycare showing the result of the inspection as: Superior, Approved, Provisional, or Disapproved. Child Care Center Rules offer more information on inspection results and guidelines for each grade.
You will need to speak with someone from Environmental Health to discuss your proposal. You will also need to discuss your plans with the building inspections office and fire marshal. If your proposed business is served by a well or septic system, additional investigations will be needed. You will also need to apply for a daycare license from the NC Division of Child Development.
You will need to contact the licensing agency, which is the Division of Facility Services in the NC Department of Health and Human Services.
You may speak to the manager of the facility about your concerns. If they are not addressed, feel free to contact our office to discuss the issues.
State operated hospitals are inspected by the Regional Environmental Health Specialist with the Division of Environmental Heath. County owned and private hospitals are inspected by county health departments.
The school cafeteria is inspected separately from the school building. The cafeteria kitchen is inspected 4 times per year and held to the same standard as a restaurant; the grade is posted. School buildings are inspected once a year, independent from their cafeterias. We currently do not post the grade of the inspection.
A school building is inspected one time per year minimum.
Public, private and religious schools are all inspected by the Health Department.
Inspections are conducted at least once per year. A new permit is required for each artist annually.
The Health Department issues permits to each individual tattoo artists within a designated location. Our office does not issue a permit to the tattoo business itself.
FOG stands for Fats, Oils and Grease. It is a by-product of cooking found in most foods including meat fats, sauces, oils, butter, dairy, baking goods, and food scraps. For more detailed description please visit Division of Pollution Prevention and Environmental Assistance.
FOG is found anywhere food is prepared. Homes, restaurants and commercial kitchens all contribute to the problem.
FOG is not water soluble. Once it cools, it floats to the surface and starts accumulating in sewer lines. Additional grease and other debris worsen the problem, and eventually the pipe will become completely clogged and a sanitary sewer overflow may occur. FOG is a problem at the treatment plant also because grease interferes with the biological processes and reduces the treatment capacity.
Everyone. Sanitary sewer overflows are harmful to humans and the environment and are costly to clean up. Spills caused by grease can be prevented!
Never put grease down the drain! Read the Residential and Commercial FOG Information and the documents on this page for helpful tips. Inform friends and family of what they can do to help. Contact the Pretreatment Coordinator if you have any questions.
Residential homes and apartments do not need a trap/interceptor. All restaurants and other commercial or food service establishments (hospitals, rest homes, schools, grocery stores, etc.) that perform any type of food preparation must have a grease trap or interceptor. If you are unsure of the need or have any questions, contact the Pretreatment Coordinator.
Never pour grease down the drain. Let it cool and wipe out all cookware using a paper towel. Dispose of it in the trash.
For liquids, keep a container to pour cooled liquids into (examples: coffee can, soup can, jar with lid) then wipe out cookware. Dispose of the container in the trash.
Use your garbage disposal sparingly. Food scraps cause odors, and blockages and are a major contributor to FOG problems in the sewage collection system.
Used Fryer Oil (UFO) can be disposed of at all Moore County Compactor Sites, including the landfill.
You will need to check with the Environmental Health Office to see if the type of food service will require a permit. If so, you will be asked to submit an application, floor plan and specifications for the kitchen equipment. There may be other agencies, such as the building inspections office and the fire marshal, that will also need to be involved.
Each establishment that has a restaurant permit must be evaluated by a Registered Environmental Health Specialist (REHS)from the health department. The REHS makes an unannounced inspection to evaluate the restaurant for compliance with the regulations. The focus of the inspection is to ensure that the operation is practicing safe food preparation methods including refrigeration temperatures, hot-holding temperatures, cooking temperatures and cooling methods, food worker hygiene, and safe food sources. Any rule violations are summarized on an inspection sheet, and an overall score is computed. A perfect score is 100%. The inspection grades are then posted for public viewing at the establishment and can also be seen on the Internet.
In years past, restaurants were inspected four times per year. Beginning in 2007, a major change recognized that some businesses did not require inspections that often because of the nature of their menu and complexity of the food operations. Inspection frequency is now based on risk factors that require anywhere from 4 inspections to 1 inspection per year. These risk factors are based on cooking temperature, holding temperature, approved food sources and food handling practices that are essential for preventing foodborne disease.
The rules governing food-handling establishments require employees preparing food to wear disposable gloves or create a barrier between their hands and ready-to-eat food (deli paper, tongs, utensils,..). In either case, they must wash their hands prior to preparing the food.
Businesses that serve only ice cream, pre-packaged products or bakery items do not need a Health Department permit but must get a permit from the NC Department of Agriculture.
You will need to check with the event organizer first to get information from her or him regarding food sales. You will be filling out and submitting an application that gives details on your food booth. If you are already a permitted Mobile Food Unit, you will need to fill out an application, but will not need to pay the fee. Vendors who are not already permitted as a Mobile Food Unit or who are not a tax exempt group will need to submit an application with a fee to the event organizer who will turn the applications in to Environmental Health. The applications are required to be turned in 15 days prior to the date of the event. Our office will inspect your food booth on the day of the event before the scheduled opening.
Answer goes here...
County of Moore Human Resources Department does not. Register of Deeds office, Clerk of Court's office, and the Airport advertise their own vacancies and process their own employment applications. If you are interested in a position with any of these offices, you will need to contact them directly.
Your application will be logged into our database and compiled into an application packet along with all the other applications for that position to be viewed by the hiring managers for the position. Nothing else will happen to your application until after the closeout date. The applications are evaluated for requirements stated in the job announcement. Applicants who do not possess the essential license, certificates, skills, education, or experience are eliminated from the process. From this group, the most qualified applicants will be contacted by the hiring authority for an interview.
The status of all advertised positions will be available on this website under Status of Advertised Positions.
The period of time it takes to hire someone can be impacted by several factors; the number of applications received, the number of job openings within the department, the workload of the department doing the hiring process, holiday breaks, supervisor and department head schedules, and any unexpected events.
If you are still interested in the position, another application must be re-submitted through the online application portal under the new job posting.
No, our system is not set up to do this.
The County of Moore Human Resources Department sends all job listings to the Employment Security Commission. They in turn post our openings on their database and website as a courtesy. We have no control over the information they make available to their clients or how long or when it is posted to their website. If there is a discrepancy between the information provided to you by the Department of Commerce and the County of Moore regarding one of our job announcements, please contact our office at 910-947-6362 for clarification.
New jobs are posted as they are approved and are advertised a minimum of 10 business days.
Contact the Customer Service office at 1 910-947-2255 or mail a signed written request to the Moore County Tax Department.
Personal property should be listed during the month of January each year.
Personal property items to be listed are: aircraft, boats, boat motors, jet skies, mobile homes, (untagged) motor vehicles and multi-year tag trailers.
Any individual or business owning or possessing personal property that is used as a part of a business, corporation, or other income producing entity in Moore County is required to file a Business Personal Property Listing with the Tax Office.
Business personal property should be listed during the month of January each year. An extension of time may be granted based upon a written request received prior to the end of January.
Business personal property is tangible assets that are used in connection with a business or any other income producing entity. These assets include manufacturing machinery, computers, cell phones, furniture, supplies, leasehold improvements, construction in progress, unlicensed and multi-year tag vehicles.
New business owners should contact the Tax Department to have a form mailed or access the Personal Property link on the website for a printable version.
Ownership is maintained by deeds recorded in the Moore County Register of Deeds, or documents filed in the Moore County Clerk of Court. Deeds and estate files are processed by the Tax Department to update changes in ownership.
Contact the Moore County Tax Department Customer Service Office. Also, the Moore County Register of Deeds office maintains all recorded property transactions and provides online look-up.
A deed has not been recorded at Register of Deeds referencing the Plat Cabinet and Slide of the recorded survey combining or recombining the property.
Calculated acreage is the exact acreage that is computed within the parcel lines (meets and bounds). Taxable acreage should reflect either deeded or calculated acreage. If the deeded acreage of a parcel falls outside of a specified tolerance of calculated acreage or is in the farm deferred (Use Value) program, the parcel will be assessed based on calculated acreage.
By using the GIS online site of the Moore County web page or by visiting the Moore County Tax Department.
There are several programs available to property owners that help reduce the overall tax bill. An application is required and certain requirements have to be met in order for the property to qualify. The following programs are available: Elderly or Disabled Exclusion (PDF), Disabled Veterans Exclusion (PDF), Homestead Circuit Breaker (PDF), Builders Exemption and Present Use Value Assessment (PDF). To learn more click the program of interest, or to get an application, go to Tax Forms and select the application of interest.
The applications are available at the Moore County Tax Department or get a printable application by going to Tax Forms and selecting the application of interest.
If the license plate transferred to another vehicle, please contact Department of Motor Vehicle. If the license plate has been submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicle License Plate Agency, the Tax Department needs to be notified within 1 year and a refund may be issued.
Please mail a copy of the receipt along with a signed request for a refund. The request should be done within 1 year of submitting the license plate.
Taxpayers who are active duty military and have a home of record, as stated on the most current LES other than North Carolina are not required to pay personal property taxes in North Carolina. To process a release for the bill, the Tax Department will need a copy of a current LES. Spouses may be exempt. Please contact our office to inquiry.
Contact the Department of Motor Vehicles to get the county corrected.
Vehicles are valued as of January 1 of the year in which the bill is due. Taxpayers may appeal the value within 30 days of the due. Consideration for excess mileage, excess wear and tear, accident damage, etc will be given based upon proof provided by the owner.
The tax year for a registered motor vehicle is the 12 months following a new registration or the expiration of an existing registration.
If you still live in North Carolina and the license plate is active, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles to get the county corrected. If you left North Carolina and have registered the vehicle in another state, disregard the notice; it is for the upcoming year.
In all cases the plate needs to be turned in or reported lost or stolen to the License Plate Agency. For a totaled vehicle the Tax Department also needs an accident report. For a Repossessed vehicle the Tax Department will need a repossession letter. And for a stolen vehicle the Tax Department will need a police report. Once the necessary documentation has been received, a refund will be issued if applicable.
Licensed active, inactive, or retired health care professionals, such as: Physicians, Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, Nurses' Assistants, Dentists, Pharmacists, Veterinarians, Laboratory Technicians, and Emergency Medical Technicians.
Non-medical support personnel, skilled in areas such as: foreign language, communications, amateur radio operation, recruitment, marketing, dispatch, health education, patient registration, and administrative support.
During a large-scale disaster/emergency you might offer medical support at emergency shelters, assist in the operation of mass immunization clinics, or support regular, established medical response professionals. You may also be asked assist with on-going public health needs such as helping with education and prevention services or support staffing in community health centers.
Large-scale emergencies might include an influenza epidemic, act of terrorism, or a natural disaster, such as a hurricane, tornado or flood.
All MRC volunteers need to undergo some form of orientation to the MRC, which includes an overview of the system in which the MRC's activities occur, whether in relation to emergency response or public health, or both.
Support/administrative volunteers receive guidance on how to perform their particular functions, which vary depending on the needs of particular communities. They may need to participate in practice drills if their duties interface with those of the front-line/direct-service volunteers. Overall, the training includes support skills training, communications, public speaking, and Incident Command Systems, or other local command systems.
Volunteers can also receive training in basic first aid, CPR, and Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) training.
MRC volunteers do not have to be available all the time. Some volunteers may only be interested in making a minimal commitment during times of crisis or for other specific community needs. These preferences are respected, given that they can be accommodated by the MRC unit's mission and work plan.
When you need a response from an emergency service, dial 911. This means if you need a police officer, the fire department, or an ambulance to come to you as soon as possible, you should dial 911.
Police/fire/medical dispatchers follow a predetermined set of questions/protocols. Based on your answers to these questions, we can determine the best response/level of care for you. For example, a heart attack will elicit a different response level than a broken arm, and a trash can fire will elicit a different response than a house fire.
No, by law automatically activated dialing and annunciation systems are prohibited from calling 911. The law requires access to the system to be initiated by a person. Your home alarm must go to an alarm monitoring company who will contact the Dispatch Center.
911 systems in the State of North Carolina provide for immediate translation services for all languages. Additionally, Moore County Dispatch has access to Language Line services providing translation for over 140 languages.
Moore County 911 Dispatchers are equipped with TDD detectors and can communicate with TDDs from their 911 workstation.
911 callers are not required to give their name/address/phone number to the dispatcher. You will never be forced to give your personal information. However, please keep in mind there may be times when officers/dispatchers require additional information from you after the call is disconnected (ex: more specific information to identify a location or update information that will affect an officer’s response). This is the main reason you will be asked to provide your name and call-back number.
If you choose to remain anonymous, it will not change the officer’s/deputy’s response to your call. All calls (911 and non-emergency) to the Communications Center are recorded. These recordings are held for a set period of time in case they are needed in a later investigation.
When your call is received, the information is relayed to the appropriate dispatcher with a priority attached. All calls are prioritized to maximize the safety of the responders and the citizens. Calls received earlier may need to be held in order to have officers/deputies respond to life-threatening incidents. Calls with a higher priority are usually in progress. Some examples of these are:
Do not hang up. Instead, inform the dispatcher that you have reached the wrong number. If you do hang up, the Communications Center will call back the number to make sure everything is alright. If there is no answer or a busy signal, a law enforcement officer will be dispatched. This will needlessly take resources away from genuine emergencies.
A 911 Center can only dispatch agencies belonging to its jurisdiction. Where you are calling from could be in one jurisdiction, and the location in which an incident occurred could be another. The Moore County 911 Communications Center can only dispatch for the law and/or fire and rescue departments we serve.
For example, if you are shopping at a store in Southern Pines and, upon returning to the parking lot, discover that someone had "keyed" your vehicle. Instead of calling the police at that time, you return to your residence in Aberdeen, and call 911 to report the damage. The dispatcher answering the phone will ask where your vehicle was when the damage occurred. When you state "in Southern Pines", the dispatcher will have to transfer your call to the Southern Pines Police Department, because Southern Pines Police is not an agency dispatched out of the Moore County 911 Center. In this instance, you may have to return to the Southern Pines city limits to meet with the officer to make a report.
Many 911 hang-up calls are made by children playing with the telephone. Each time a 911 hang-up call is received, the dispatcher must immediately call back the phone number to determine if there is an emergency. If there is no answer on callback, law enforcement personnel will immediately be dispatched to check the well-being of any persons at the location.
If, on call-back, there is an answer, the dispatcher will question the person (an adult) who answers the phone to determine if an emergency exists. Dispatchers have been trained to "pick up" on any unusual noises or voice inflections to determine if there is a problem at a location without the caller actually advising the dispatcher.
If a child answers the phone on a call-back, the dispatcher will request to speak to an adult to ensure that everything is okay. Some children are too young to understand what we need (give the phone to an adult), so the dispatcher will still send an officer to respond.
We ask that adults do not punish children who call 911 and then hang up, but rather explain to them that 911 should only be used in an emergency. If children are punished for dialing 911, it may scare them from using it in the future, whether they have a legitimate emergency or not. Moore County 911 Communications also is available to do tours for children (and adults) so they are able to have a better understanding of 911 (call 910-947-6317).
An automated external defibrillator (AED) is a portable electronic device that analyzes the victim's condition and, if warranted, delivers an electric shock to the heart to reverse sudden cardiac arrest (SCA).
When someone collapses from SCA, immediate CPR and the use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) are essential for any chance of recovery. These devices are failsafe and will not cause injury to the user, nor will they deliver a shock if none is needed. For patients with ventricular fibrillation (VF) studies show that if early defibrillation is provided within the first minute, the odds are 90% that the victim’s life can be saved. After that, the rate of survival drops 10% with every minute. As many as 30% to 50% of SCA victims would likely survive if CPR and AEDs were used within five minutes of collapse.
The American Heart Association supports implementing the chain of survival to rescue people who suffer a cardiac arrest in the community. The adult chain of survival consists of:
Reasons to purchase an AED include:
HeartSafe Moore County has established policies, procedures, and plans for the effective use of AEDs and will assist with training, maintenance, and long-term monitoring of the device.
A host of undetected cardiac problems exist within any sizeable school population, and some school activities (especially athletics) may exacerbate these difficulties:
Even schools for young children have many adults present every day. Teachers, custodians, office staff, and volunteers are among those whose lives will be protected through the placement of an AED.
Schools provide a natural placement option for public access defibrillation (PAD) programs. While hospitals and other public buildings tend to be located in population centers, the more uniform distribution of schools puts life-saving technology nearer to those residents most at risk for long delays from EMS.
Schools serve as central gathering points within the community. Whether it is parents attending a school concert or play or everyone in town attending a basketball or football game, it is hard to imagine an institution that more regularly attracts large numbers of people for extended periods of time.
There is educational value in placing AEDs in schools. Primary-level teachers can make their pupils aware of what they are and how they are used. Secondary teachers can integrate CPR and AED instruction into the curriculum. The more familiar children are with AEDs, the greater the likelihood that they will use them in the event of a cardiac emergency.
The Splash Pad is located within Moore County Sports Complex at the intersection of Routes 15/501 and 22.
The address:155 Hillcrest Park LaneCarthage, NC 28327
The Splash Pad is open seasonally. Hours of operation from 10 am to 6 pm. Open Daily from May 20, 2023 to September 4, 2023 and Weekends in September 2023.
Free! There is no admission charge.
In an emergency, call 911! The Splash Pad is located at:155 Hillcrest Park LaneCarthage, NC 28327
WIC (Women, Infants, and Children) is a federally funded nutrition program for Women, Infants, and Children. The WIC Program provides a combination of nutrition education, supplemental foods, breastfeeding promotion and support, and referrals for health care.
WIC Non-Discrimination Policy
To participate in the WIC Program, you must:
Call the Moore County WIC Office at 910-947-3271.
Or visit the NCDHHS website. By filling out the online form, a WIC clinic near you will contact you within 10 to 20 business days.
Example of proof of identify and/or residence include Proof of Identity and must be in the applicant’s name and proof of residence must include the applicant's current physical address.:
Examples of proof of income include:
Please bring proof of gross income for everyone in the household whom either works or receives any type of payments, such as child support, alimony, retirement, disability, unemployment checks, Social Security checks, student grants, etc.
Please note: Proof of Identity must be in applicant's name. Proof of Residence must include current physical address.
In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability.
To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA Director, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Avenue SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call toll-free at 866-632-9992 (Voice). Individuals who are hearing impaired or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at 800-877-8339; or 800-845-6136 (Spanish). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.
Listing of NC authorized WIC Vendors - WIC Vendors