Maintain voter registration for the citizens of Moore County, conduct all elections held in Moore County, to include all of its eleven municipalities; assist persons desiring to file for office; administer the Campaign Reporting Act; and ensure the enforcement of all election laws of the State of North Carolina.​


The Board will hold a meeting(s) on:

March 22, 2023: Discussion of Election Equipment and Candidate Concerns at 1:00 P.M.

Live Stream Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBmizIkFa3I


  • On December 16, 2022, the North Carolina Supreme Court ruled in the Holmes v. Moore case that Senate Bill 824, the 2018 legislation implementing voter ID, violates the state constitution’s equal protection clause. This means that voters are not required to show photo ID in elections in North CarolinaThis page will be updated if new information becomes available. Click here for more information

Hours of Operation


Contact Us

  • 1 (910) 947-3868
  • 1 (910) 947-2389
  • [email protected]
  • P.O. Box 787, Carthage, NC 28327
  • Towanna Dixon, Director

Physical Address

Board Members

Rev. Charles McKnight, Chair

Richard W. Ashton, Secretary

Martin D. Carpenter, Member

William R. Case, Member

R. Craig Kennedy, Member

Registration Totals

AS OF: Total Voters: Democrat: Republican: Unaffiliated: Libertarian: Green:
March 1, 2023 73, 829 15, 250 30, 737 27, 232 604 6
February 1, 2023 73, 776 15, 246 30, 731 27, 190 604 5
Changes +53 +4 +6


0 +1

Campaign Report Due

**Effective December 1, 2009:  The threshold amount for candidate committees has changed from $3000.00 to $1000.00.   Any active committee that has spent or received more than $1000.00 must file campaign reports with the County Board of Elections Office.

Organizational Report:

  • Due within ten (10) days of activity by the committee
  • Required for all active committees filing over the threshold actively participating in the 2022 Elections

Third Quarter Plus Report:

  • Due Tuesday, November 01, 2022
  • Covers from last report through October 22, 2022
  • Required for all active committees filing over the threshold actively participating in the 2022 Elections

Mid Year Semi Annual Report:

  • Due Friday, July 29, 2022
  • Covers from January 1, 2022 - June 30, 2022
  • Required for all active committees filing over the threshold NOT actively participating in the 2022 Elections

Year End Semi Annual Report:

  • Due Friday, January 27, 2023
  • Covers from July 01, 2022 - December 31, 2022
  • Only due from candidates that are NOT appearing on the ballots in the 2022 Elections

Final Report:

  • Due when all funds are disbursed, loans repaid or forgiven and committee bank account is closed.
  • Due from all active committees filing over the threshold that wish to close their committee
  • Campaign reporting forms

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes.  If you are an unaffiliated voter you can choose to vote in either the Democratic, Republican or Libertarian Primary.  You must choose only one party's primary.  Participating in a partisan primary will not affect your status as an unaffilliated voter.

NOTE:  If you choose to vote an unaffilliated ballot you will only vote for non-partisan offices. (ie. Judges or School board)
All polls are open for voting from 6:30am to 7:30pm.
Once your registration has been processed you will be mailed a voter information card that will list your polling place.  Your polling place is assigned based on the precinct in which you reside.

If you are not sure of your polling place or you have moved from the residence address currently listed on your voting record, you may call our office: 910-947-3868 or check the status of your voter information online.
On Election Day, you should vote in your assigned precinct in order to make sure you are issued a ballot that contains all races for which you are eligible to vote.

If you go to the wrong precinct, you may be required to vote a provisional ballot as you will not be listed on the books at that precinct.  Please plan to allow yourself extra time if you choose to go to the wrong precinct, as you will be required to fill out all necessary forms before you are issued a provisional ballot.
If you have moved within Moore County more than 30 days prior to an election and failed to notify the Board of Elections before the registration deadline you may:

   ~ Vote early at a One-Stop Absentee voting site.  NC General Statutes allow voters to change their address and vote the correct ballot for the current address when voting at a One-Stop site.

   ~ Vote at your new precinct on Election Day by first obtaining a voter transfer slip from your old precinct and taking it to your new precinct.

   ~ Go straight to the new precinct and vote a provisional ballot.  Please allow yourself extra time for the necessary forms to be completed.
The voter may request an absentee ballot by mail.  See below for more information on absentee voting.

If the voter chooses to vote on Election Day or at an One-Stop Absentee Site and is unable to enter the polling place, they may vote outside the polling place in their car.  This is called "curbside voting".  Each polling place has a designated area for curbside voting that is marked with a sign.  When you pull up to the sign you will run over a rubber hose that sets off a buzzer inside the polling place to alert precinct officials that they have a curbside voter.
Learn more about curbside voting here.
Any registered voter in Moore County may request an absentee ballot by mail or you may vote at a One-Stop voting location.  
Learn more about absentee voting here.
Close Menu
Back To Top