Voter Registration

        Mail the completed Voter Registration form to:  
        Moore County Board of Elections
        PO Box 787
        Carthage, NC  28327

To register to vote in this State, a person must sign a voter declaration attesting that:

  • I am a U.S. citizen.
  • I will have been a resident of North Carolina and this county for 30 days before the election.
  • I will be at least 18 years old by the next general election. (If 17 years old, persons may register no earlier than 60 days prior to the date of the primary election for the general election.)
  • I am not registered nor will I vote in any other county or state.
  • If I have been convicted of a felony, my rights of citizenship have been restored.

The deadline to register to vote in North Carolina is 25 days before the date of an election. The voter registration application must be received by the applicant’s county boards of elections by this date. If an application is received after the deadline, the application may still be timely if it was mailed and it is postmarked on or before the voter registration deadline; otherwise, the application will not be processed until after the election. Persons who register at the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles or another voter registration agency will be considered registered as of the date the application is given to the agency. As long as this date is on or before the voter registration deadline, then the application will be deemed timely for an upcoming election

Changing your voter registration information-- including, but not limited to name, residential address, mailing address, or party affiliation, is relatively easy. 

You may use the NC Voter Registration Application/Change of Information form for new registrations or to change any of your informatioin. Mail or hand deliver the completed form to the Moore County Board of Elections.
When you move from one county to another, you will need to register in your new county of residence. Use the form specified above and send to your new county. Note that when you move within the State, the law requires that you change your address on your drivers license within 60 days. While changing your information at the DMV be sure to inform the agent that you need to update your voter record also. 

**PLEASE NOTE: Changing information on your Drivers license does NOT automatically update your voter record!

Agencies:

Voter registration programs are actively conducted through many agencies in this State. If a person is applying for or receiving benefits from any of the participating agencies or programs, a voter registration transaction is available during the conduct of any business with that office.
The following programs and agencies are currently participating in the agency voter registration program:

  • Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
  • Employment Security Commission
  • Women, Infants and Children (WIC)
  • Food Stamps 
  • Medicaid 
  • Services for the Blind 
  • Mental Health, Develpmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services 
  • Vocational Rehabilitation 
  • Governor's Advocacy Council for Persons with Disabilities

Other Options:


Public Libraries, Town Halls and High Schools

North Carolina has made available mail-in voter registration forms to numerous visible locations throughout the counties, such as local town halls, high schools and public libraries. Please note that while the forms are available at these locations, they do not accept the completed forms for the board of elections. The completed forms should be mailed directly to the appropriate county board of elections.


DMV:

The driver's license examination offices, located throughout the State, have conducted a succesful voter registration program since 1984. A person may complete a voter registration transaction at any driver's license examination office when conducting official DMV business with that office (applying for or renewing a driver's license, I.D. card, etc.).

UOCAVA citizens are U.S. citizens who are members of U.S. Armed Forces (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard), merchant marine, commissioned corps of the Public Health Service and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, their family members, and citizens outside the United States. 

If you are covered by UOCAVA and not a resident of North Carolina, please go to the Federal Voting Assistance Program (FVAP) website for information about registering in your state of residence and requesting the appropriate forms.  

If you are a resident of North Carolina and are registered to vote in North Carolina you may request an absentee ballot by mail or in person from your local County Board of Elections office or you may submit a Federal Post Card Application (FPCA SF-76). 

If you are a resident of North Carolina but not registered to vote you may submit a Federal Post Card Application (FPCA SF-76) form to your county of residence.

NC law (GS 163, Article 21) defines absent uniformed services voters and overseas citizens as the following:

  • Members of the US armed forces (as defined by UOCAVA)
  • Spouses of members of the US armed forces
  • Disabled war veterans in US government hospitals
  • Civilians attached to and serving outside the US with the armed forces
  • Members of the Peace Corps
  • Other individuals meeting definitions of “absent uniformed services voter” and “overseas voter” in the UOCAVA

Absent UOCAVA voters may use the FPCA to register and request an absentee ballot. Requests from absent uniformed services voters are good through two federal elections.
In lieu of the FPCA, absent UOCAVA registered voters may make a written request, issued by the county board of elections or the voter, for registration and/or absentee ballot request provided the request contains the following information:

  • election for which the ballots are being requested
  • political party affiliation, if primary
  • a statement of membership in any of the above qualifying categories of absent UOCAVA voters
  • a statement of the precinct of registration or the address of the voter’s residence in the county
  • the address where the ballots are to be mailed
  • must be signed by the voter

FPCAs are not required to be notarized or witnessed.
FPCAs or written requests can be submitted by mail, by facsimile (using the secure fax #919-715-0351) or as an email attachment.
Requests for registration and absentee ballots by absent UOCAVA voters may be submitted at any time during the calendar year prior to the day of the election.

Individuals qualified to register and receive absentee ballots under these provisions may receive their ballot by Mail or by Fax.

Ballots will be faxed to the voter using guidelines established by the State Board of Elections and contained in 8 NCAC Chapter 12. The voter must request that the ballot be faxed and specify the fax number where the ballot is to be sent.

Ballots should be marked by the voter or in the voter’s presence according to the instructions contained in the absentee ballot package or faxed materials and witnessed by two persons who are at least 18 years of age.

Voted ballots should be returned to the county board of elections along with the completed certificate printed on the container return envelope or fax materials.

Ballots should be received by the county board of elections no later than 5 pm the day before the election in order to be counted. Ballots arriving on Election Day before the close of the polls may have only the offices of President and Vice President counted. (42 U.S.C. 1973aa-1(d))

If the FPCA or written request is missing required information or information is provided that does not permit the county to register the voter and/or process the absentee request (i.e. last voting residence is not a proper address, etc.), the voter shall be notified by the county board of elections and given the opportunity to correct the error.

Mail:
Federal Voting Assistance Program
Department of Defense
1155 Defense Pentagon
Washington, DC 20301-1155

Telephone:
Office hours are 7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. EST, Monday through Friday. Messages may
be left 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Toll-Free for the United States, Canada, Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands: 1-800-438-VOTE (8683)
Fax: 1-800-368-8683
Commercial: (703) 588-1584 / DSN: 425-1584

Federal Voting Assistance Program Web Site

Sample Ballots

Absentee Voting

In North Carolina, absentee voting is broadly divided into three categories: absentee-by-mail voting, military and overseas citizens voting (also called UOCAVA voting), and absentee one-stop voting. These processes are all considered absentee, because the voting takes place away from the traditional Election Day precincts.

Any registered North Carolina voter can request a mail-in absentee ballot. This type of absentee voting allows a voter or a near relative or legal guardian to request that an absentee ballot be sent to the voter by mail. The voter may vote the ballot and return it to the county board of elections by the ballot return deadline.

Options to request an Absentee Ballot by Mail:

Who may request an absentee Ballot?

  • The voter or the voter’s near relative (spouse, brother, sister, parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, mother-in-law, father-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, stepparent, or stepchild) or legal guardian.

Assistance Requesting an Absentee Ballot:

  • Voters who are blind or disabled, or who cannot read or write may receive assistance in completing the request form.
  • If the assistance is provided by someone other than a near relative or legal guardian, that person’s name and address must be listed on the State Absentee Ballot Request Form.

Returning the Absentee Ballot Request Form:

  • Completed request forms may only be delivered to the county board of elections by one of the following:
    • the voter
    • the voter’s near relative or verifiable legal guardian
    • a member of a multipartisan assistance team (MAT) Page
    • U.S. Postal Service or designated delivery service authorized pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 7502(f).
    • Forms returned by any other person will not be processed.
       
  • A signed and completed State Absentee Ballot Request Form must be received by the county board of elections office no later than 5:00 PM on the Tuesday prior to the date of the election for which the ballot is being requested.
  • Requests that are received after the absentee request deadline will not be deemed timely, regardless of any postmark date.
  • Request forms that are delivered by the deadline to the State Board will be considered timely. In the interest of ensuring that county boards of elections are able to promptly process voters’ absentee requests, we strongly recommend that forms be submitted to the appropriate county board of elections

A request for absentee ballots is not valid if any of the following apply:

  • The completed written request is not on the State Absentee Ballot Request Form.
  • The written request is completed, partially or in whole, or signed by anyone other than the voter, the voter's near relative or verifiable legal guardian, or a MAT member.
  • The written request does not contain all of the required information.
  • The completed written request is returned to the county board by someone who is not authorized to return the request.

Copying and Distributing Absentee Ballot Request Forms:

  • It is permissible to make copies of the Absentee Ballot Request Form for distribution.
  • It is not permissible for candidates, campaigns, individuals or groups to create their own absentee ballot request form. 

Mail Absentee Requests to:
Moore County Board of Elections
Post Office Box 787
Carthage, NC  28327 

Hand Deliver Requests to:
Moore County Board of Elections
700 Pinehurst Ave
Carthage, NC  28327

 

Required Information:

  • When completing the State Absentee Ballot Request Form the following information is required:  
  • The name and address of the residence of the voter
  • The name and address of the voter's near relative or verifiable legal guardian if that individual is making the request
  • The address of the voter to which the application and absentee ballots are to be mailed if different from the residence address of the voter
  • One of the following types of identification numbers for the voter:
    • North Carolina driver’s license
    • North Carolina special identification card for nonoperators
    • last four digits of social security number
  • The voter's date of birth.
  • The signature of the voter or of the voter's near relative or verifiable legal guardian, if that individual is making the request 
  • A clear indicator of the date the election generating the request is to be held
  • ​​​​​​​If a voter who is seeking a ballot for a partisan primary is registered as unaffiliated, the political party in whose primary the voter wishes to participate must be identified. This information enables the board of elections to determine which type of ballot to send to the voter.

Witnesses:

  • In the presence of one (1) Notary Public OR two (2) witnesses, the voter should mark the ballot, or if the voter is unable to mark the ballot, shall cause it to be marked according to the voter’s instructions.
  • Witnesses should not observe so closely that they are able to see what votes the voter marked. What is required is that the witnesses sees the that the voter is voting the ballot

Prohibited Witnesses:

  • The following individuals are prohibited from serving as a witness on an absentee ballot:
    • A person who is under 18
    • An individual who is a candidate for nomination or election to such office, unless the voter is the candidate’s near relative
  • Additionally, if the voter is a patient or resident of a hospital, clinic, nursing home, or rest home, the following people are also prohibited from serving as a witness on the absentee ballot:
    • An owner, manager, director, employee of the hospital, clinic, nursing home, or rest home in which the voter is a patient or resident
    • An individual who holds any elective office under the United States, this State, or any political subdivision of this State
    • An individual who holds any office in a State, congressional district, county, or precinct political party or organization, or who is a campaign manager or treasurer for any candidate or political party; provided that a delegate to a convention shall not be considered a party office.

Certification of Witness and Assistants:

  • The voter’s witnesses must, after observing that the voter marking the ballot, complete and sign the envelope in the space designated as Witnesses’ Certification.  Information REQUIRED from witnesses:  address, printed name & signature (even if the witness is a spouse, the address portion MUST be completed)
  • Any person who assisted the voter must sign and date the certificate in the proper place on the envelope.

After Marking the Absentee Ballot:

  • Once the ballot is marked, the voter or a person assisting the voter must:  
    • 1) seal the ballot in the container-return envelope and
    • 2) complete the Absentee Application on the ballot container-return envelope.
  • For civilian absentee voters, once the Absentee Application and Certificate is fully executed with all relevant signatures, the voted ballot (placed inside the container-return envelope) must be returned to the county board of elections no later than 5:00 PM on Election Day.
  • Absentee ballots received after 5:00 PM on Election Day will be timely only if they are received by mail no later than 5:00 PM on the third day following the date of the election, and bear a postmark that is dated on or before Election Day.
  • The envelope may be mailed or delivered in person to either the county board of elections office or to an open one-stop absentee voting site during the early voting period.
  • Only the voter or the voter’s near relative may take possession of the absentee ballot for purposes of returning the ballot to the board of elections.

One-stop absentee voting (commonly known as "early voting") allows any registered voter to cast an absentee ballot in person on select days prior to Election Day. One-stop voting begins on the third Thursday prior to Election Day and ends on the last Saturday before the election. The location for One-stop Voting is either in the County Board of Elections office, or an in lieu of site, if the County Board office is not equipped to handle in-person voting. County Boards of Elections may also designate additional one-stop sites in various other parts of the county.
 
One-Stop site Locations will be announced upon approval of the One-Stop plan submitted by the County Board of Elections to the State Board of Elections for each election.

*At a One-Stop location registered voters may change their name or address.  Also, unregistered citizens may register and vote during the One-Stop period.  For more information on Same Day Registration, click here.

 

Municipal, Primary, General*  Elections: 2022

Moore County Agricultural Center          Aberdeen Lake Park Recreation Station
707 Pinehurst Ave                                  301 Lake Park Crossing
Carthage, NC  28327                             Aberdeen, NC 28315

One Stop Flyer

Absent uniformed services members (and their eligible dependents) and U.S. citizens living outside of the United States may request an absentee ballot under the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA). This federal act and its corresponding law in this state allows uniformed service members and overseas citizens who are absent from their county of residence in North Carolina to request, receive and return an absentee ballot under special rights.
Click here for more information

Voter Data

What Data Interests You?

Countywide voter registration and voter history files are available from the Moore County Board of Elections. This data can be purchased by printed lists, labels, or electronic media.
 
To purchase voter data:
Print out & complete the Voter List Request Form 

  • Hand Delivered: Bring the completed form to our office along with payment in cash or check. (Credit Cards not accepted)
  • By Mail: Mail the completed form along with your payment and a self-addressed, stamped return envelope. (your receipt will be returned with your data.)

Costs:

  • Printed reports: $.02 per page with a $2.00 minimum.
  • Electronic data: $25.00
    • All data is in text form, you will need an Excel or Access program to open. (Click for instructions to open data: Excel / Access)
  • Labels: $.02 per page with a $10.00 minimum.
    • (Customer must furnish all labels - required size: 1" x 2 5/8")

Data is made available based on the State Board of Elections Policy regarding access to Public Records.
The data listed below are available on the State Board of Elections website: www.ncsbe.gov

 
Statewide voter registration and voter history files are available from the State Board of Elections. This statewide data can be purchased on CD-ROM for $25. To purchase the CD-ROM, fill out the Voter Records Request Form and send it to:


 NC State Board of Elections
 PO Box 27255
 Raleigh, NC 27611-7255

Form Description of the CD Content and Data Format

Close Menu
Back To Top