OTHER IMPORTANT QUESTIONS

Will the tax rate stay the same or change after the Revaluation?
At this time there is no way to know what the tax rates may be in Moore County or the Cities/Towns. The Moore County Board of
Commissioners and City/Town Officials set tax rates in June.

What are Present-Use Value Assessments?

Owners of parcels presently used for agriculture, horticultural and forestland may qualify for special present-use value assessments.
To obtain present-use value assessments, owners of eligible property must submit a completed application to the Moore County Tax
Department during the regular listing period, which is the month of January. Applications may be picked up at the Moore County
Tax Department at 1 Historic Courthouse Square, Highway 24/27, Carthage, NC. No application is required if the property has
already been approved for such tax deferment.

SENIOR AND TOTALLY DISABLED CITIZENS MAY BE ELIGIBLE FOR THE HOMESTEAD
EXCLUSION PROPERTY TAX BREAK
A change in North Carolina Law means that many senior citizens in Moore County may be eligible for a break on their property taxes.

North Carolina now gives qualifying elderly OR totally and permanently disabled residents an exclusion of $25,000 or 50% of the
appraised value of their home, whichever is greater.

The property must be their permanent residence owned and occupied by a qualifying owner. To qualify, an owner must meet all of
the following requirements as of January 1, 2019:

B Be at least 65 years of age OR totally and permanently disabled

B Has a total adjusted gross income (add husband and wife incomes together)
for the preceding year of not more than $30,200

B Be a Moore County Resident

The application deadline for a senior citizen OR totally and permanently disabled citizen who did not receive the exclusion the
previous year is June 1, 2019. Anyone who received the exclusion the previous year does not need to reapply. An application of
exclusion can be obtained from the Moore County Tax Department at 1 Historic Courthouse Square, Highway 24/27, Carthage, NC.
To receive an application in the mail, call (910) 947-2255.

COMMUNITY WORKSHOPS SCHEDULE
2019 MOORE COUNTY REVALUATION INFORMATIONAL MEETING DATES
The Moore County Tax Department will be holding workshops concerning the 2019 Revaluation at the locations listed below.
If you have questions about your 2019 assessed value, please make plans to attend one of the workshops. The workshops will
be designed to assist individual taxpayers on a first-come-first-serve basis.

LOCATION DATE TIME
Moore County Agricultural Center March 25, 26, 27, 28, 2019 9:00 am-3:30 pm

Moore County Agricultural Center April 2, 3,4, 8, 15, 22,2019 9:00 am-3:30 pm
Robbins Fire Department April 9, 2019 3:30 pm-7:30 pm
Westmoore Volunteer Fire Department April 11, 2019 3:30 pm-7:30 pm
Cypress Pointe Fire & Rescue Dept. (Cameron) April 16, 2019 3:30 pm-7:30 pm
Cypress Pointe Fire & Rescue Dept. (Vass) April 18,2019 3:30 pm-7:30 pm
Eagle Springs Volunteer Fire Department April 23,2019 3:30 pm-7:30 pm

Moore County Tax Department Office will also be open
Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. for your questions.
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COMMUNITY WORKSHOPS

Review your property’s data and newly assessed value and get your questions
answered. In an effort to bring information to the taxpayers, there will be

a series of workshops held at various locations in early 2019. The Revaluation
workshops will provide individual taxpayers the opportunity to review the
data and resulting value of his or her property on a first-come-first-serve
basis. Residents and property owners are encouraged to attend the workshops
which will be held at times that will allow for afternoon and evening hours.

A schedule of meeting times and locations is provided in this publication.

WHAT?

What is Revaluation?

Revaluation is a process that updates the assessed tax value of each property
to keep those values consistent with what the property is worth in the
current market.

What type of property was revalued?

The Revaluation is done for all residential, commercial and industrial land
and structures in Moore County, such as houses, garages, offices, industries,
etc. including vacant land. The Revaluation does not include personal
property such as motor vehicles.

WHO?

Who decided to conduct the Revaluation?

North Carolina Law requires a Revaluation to be conducted by each county
at least once every eight (8) years. The last Revaluation in Moore County
occurred in 2015 (four years ago).

Who conducts the Revaluation?

The Moore County Tax Department conducts the 2019 Revaluation
of all property. Some commercial and industrial properties are
completed with the help of a consultant.

HOW?

How much will the Revaluation affect my tax bill?

The Revaluation determines only one of two components of your tax bill —
the assessed value. The other component - the tax rate - is set by elected
bodies such as the County Commissioners and City/Town Officials. There

is no way to determine at this time what the tax rate will be for the County
or Cities/Towns. The Moore County Board of Commissioners and City/Town
Officials set their respective tax rates in June. In addition, these tax rates are
subject to change from year to year. However, if there are no changes to the
property, the assessed value will remain the same until the next Revaluation.
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Assessed Property Value x Tax Rate = TAX BILL

How much will my property value change?

Each property’s assessed value will vary depending on numerous market factors. One way to estimate what your
new assessed value may be is to consider what you believe your property would sell for in today’s market. This
should be close to what your assessed value will be.

WHEN?
When is the Revaluation effective?
The 2019 Revaluation is effective as of January 1, 2019.

When will the Revaluation occur?

The process of determining the new assessed values should be completed in late February 2019. It takes
a long time to complete the process of a county-wide Revaluation. The process began shortly after the
2015 Revaluation.

When will I know what my new assessed property value is?
In March 2019, property owners will be mailed a notification of their new
assessed value.

When will my new assessed property value be reflected in my tax bill?
The new assessed value will be reflected in the tax bills mailed in July 2019. Payments of these bills are due
no later than January 5, 2020.

When was the last County-wide Revaluation?
The last Moore County Revaluation was conducted in 2015.

WHERE?

Where is the Revaluation being conducted?

All residential, commercial and industrial properties, including vacant land in Moore County are included in
this and every Revaluation.

WHY?

Why do Revaluations occur?

A Revaluation is conducted to make sure that all properties are valued equitably, based on what the property
is actually worth on the open market as of January 1, 2019.

Why is it being done now?

By North Carolina Law, all counties must conduct a Revaluation at least once every eight years. However,
counties can decide to revalue property more often. The last Revaluation in Moore County was conducted in
2015. This means that since 2015 you and all property owners are carrying value and paying taxes based on the
2015 value of property. Because many property values have changed considerably in the past four (4) years,
the new 2019 Revaluation will more accurately reflect the true market value of each property.

Customer Service Center (910) 947-2255

APPEALS PROCESS

Property owners have a right to appeal their assessed value, even in years
when a county-wide Revaluation does not occur. To initiate the appeal
process, simply complete and return the bottom portion of the Revaluation
Notice that’s called the Informal Review Form. For other general questions,
contact our Customer Service at (910) 947-2255.

TIME TABLE

January 1, 2019

The “effective” date of the county-wide Revaluation.

March 2019

In March 2019, all property owners will be mailed their new assessed
property values. Owners of parcels that had mapping changes or
new construction may receive the value notice within

three (3) weeks of the initial mailing.

April 2019

Deadline for filing “Informal Review” appeals to the Moore County Tax
Department. NOTE: Your right to appeal to the Moore County Board of
Equalization and Review is protected while we (Tax Department Revaluation
Staff) consider the information that taxpayers provide us for the “Informal
Review” appeal process.

May 2019

Deadline for filing appeals to the Board of Equalization and Review. The
schedule for the 2019 Board of Equalization and Review will be advertised
as required by North Carolina General Statutes.

June 30, 2019
Deadline for Moore County Commissioners and City/Town Officials to set
tax rates.

July 2019

Real property tax bills mailed using the January 1, 2019 values.

January 5, 2020
Deadline for paying 2019 real property tax bills without interest.




