Vital Records

Online Vital Records Request

Birth/Death/Marriage Copies

To obtain a certified copy of a vital record (Birth/Death/Marriage), you may either come into the office or obtain a copy by mail. Please send request with certified check or money order payable to:
Moore County Register of Deeds Office
P.O. Box 1210
Carthage, NC 28327
Fees for certified copies are $10.00 each and uncertified copies are $.25 each. Please send a self addressed stamped envelope.
Your request WILL NOT be processed without a photo copy of a Valid ID.
ID Accepted:
  • Valid Drivers License
  • Valid State ID card
  • Valid Passport
  • Military ID card
We cannot accept request by email.
North Carolina General Statute 130A-93 specifies who is entitled to obtain a certified copy:
  • Yourself
  • Parent, Stepparent
  • Grandparent
  • Brother/Sister
  • Current Spouse
  • Child, Stepchild, Grandchild
  • Authorized agent, attorney, or legal representative
Birth Certificate:
  • Full name on Certificate
  • Date of Birth
  • Parent’s names (with mother maiden)
  • Relationship to the person whose certificate is requested
  • Your signature
Death Certificate
  • Full name of Deceased
  • Date of Death
  • Relationship to the person whose certificate is requested
  • Your signature
Marriage Certificate
  • Full name of Groom and Bride and/or Applicant 1 and Applicant 2
  • Date of Marriage
  • Relationship to the person whose certificate is requested
  • Your signature
Under North Carolina Law (G.S. 130A-26A), it is a felony violation to fraudulently
request a certified copy of a vital record or obtain, possess, sell, furnish, use or attempt
to use for any purpose of deception a North Carolina birth certificate.

Marriage License Information

Moore County Register of Deeds
100 Dowd Street, Carthage
2nd Floor Vital Records
(910) 947-6370 select option 1
Access Online Marriage Application (Online application expires after 30 days)
  • Print and complete the Application Form and bring with you when you purchase your license. This will expedite the processing time. Click here:
  • Applicants 21 years of age and beyond must provide a valid drivers license or photo identification issued by a US Government Agency or State Agency (State ID card, Passport or Military ID)
  • Applicants 18-21 years of age must provide a certified birth certificate and a state or federal picture ID.
  • Both groom and bride or applicant 1 and applicant 2 must provide Social Security numbers or an affidavit form that is completed by the applicant and notarized. Click form if applicable:
  • Applicants who are 16-17 years of age must have parental consent from a parent with full or joint custody or a person, agency or institution having legal custody or legal guardian of said applicant. Documentation may be required to determine custody depending on circumstances.
  • Applicants who are 14-15 years of age must provide a certified copy of a court order issued by a district court judge authorizing the marriage. Please contact the Register of Deeds office at 910-947-6370 for further requirements and/or questions.
  • Marriage License Fee: $60.00
  • Certified Marriage copy: $10.00
  • If previously married, must provide date of divorce or death if applicable. If less than one year, please provide a copy of the document.
  • Marriage Licenses are issued between the hours of 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday excluding holidays in the Register of Deeds Office, 2nd Floor, 100 Dowd Street, Carthage, NC
  • Marriages may take place anywhere in the State of North Carolina but the license must be returned to the county of issuance.
  • Marriage License valid for 60 days in North Carolina
If you do not use the marriage license, please return the license to the Register of Deeds in the addressed envelope within your packet.