Monday - Friday, 2:00 PM - 4:30 PM


  • $15 Fee (Must pay with credit card, check, or money order. We do not accept cash)
  • Must be a Moore County resident
    • If you are NOT a Moore County resident but work in Moore County, proof of employment must be provided (i.e. business letterhead with a fingerprint request)
  • Valid Picture ID
  • Livescan fingerprints that need to be sent electronically must be accompanied with the proper paperwork
  • Fingerprint cards can be printed




Effective November 1, 2022, the Moore County Sheriff's Office will require a completed request form for appearances, department tours, and other community events. 

Public Event Request Form

PDF 0.00


The Sheriff is the only official authorized under N.C.G.S. 14-402 to issue a permit to receive or purchase a handgun when a person who is a resident of his or her particular county submits an application. Prior to issuing a permit, the Sheriff must certify by affidavits, oral evidence, or otherwise, that the applicant is of good moral character and that the person, firm, or corporation wants to possess the weapon for one of the following purposes:

  • The protection of the applicant’s home, business, person, family, or property
  • Target shooting
  • Firearms Collection
  • Hunting

Additionally, the Sheriff must verify by a criminal history background investigation that it is not a violation of state or federal law for the applicant to purchase, transfer, receive, or possess a handgun. The Sheriff shall determine the criminal history of any applicant by accessing computerized criminal history records as maintained by the State and Federal Bureau of Investigations, by conducting a national history records check, and by conducting a criminal history check through the Administrative Office of the Courts. N.C.G.S. 14-404.

Gun permits are issued for the purchase of handguns only. It does not give you the right to carry the gun concealed. Carrying a concealed weapon without a N.C. State Concealed Handgun Permit is against the law (G.S. 14-269).

Applicant Must:

  • be a resident of Moore County or a naturalized citizen 
  • be twenty-one (21) years of age
  • eighteen to twenty (18-20) year olds can apply for a restricted permit - this permit can not be used at a Federal Firearms Licensed Dealer
  • have attained at least one month's residency in Moore County
  • at the time of pickup, provide a valid driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the State of North Carolina.

When Applying: 

  • Permits are $5.00 each (plus credit card service fees) You may purchase as many permits as desired from one application
  • To fill out the online purchase permit, click here
  • Proof of ID and a mental health waiver must be signed in-person within 60 days after completing the application (it will stay pending until signed, after the 60 days a new application must be completed) 
  • After all record checks have been completed and the application is approved (normally takes 8-10 business days), you will be notified that your gun permit is ready for pick-up 
  • Permits can be picked up Monday-Friday, from 8:00am-5:00pm (Reminder that we are closed on county approved holidays) 


The Sheriff is the only official who may issue a concealed permit. N.C.G.S. 14-415.11
To obtain a North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit, an individual must apply to the sheriff’s office in the county in which he/she resides. As part of the application process, the applicant must accomplish the following:

New Applicants: $90

  • To obtain a Conceal Purchase Permit, you must complete an eight (8) hour mandated handgun safety course 
  • Must be twenty-one (21) years of age 
  • Must be a citizen of the United States or have been lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States
  • Have been a resident of North Carolina for thirty (30) days
  • Must Provide Photo ID
  • After completing the course, click here to fill out the online application (payment and appointment times to be fingerprinted will be included in this application) 
  • During the appointment time, an original certificate of completion of an approved handgun safety course must be provided
  • Retired or former Military, a copy of your DD214 form must be provided
  • If Active Duty, proof of residency must be provided (e.g. military orders or a bill showing that you reside in Moore County) 

Renewals: $75 (unless fingerprints are needed, then $85)  


The North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association is the statewide organization of our state’s 100 Sheriffs. Through their Association, the Sheriffs work to strengthen the professional law enforcement services their offices provide to the people of North Carolina.



Moore County residents can safely dispose of expired or unused prescription medications at drop boxes conveniently located at the Moore County Sheriff's Office and the Seven Lakes Prescription Shoppe (120 MacDougall Drive, Seven Lakes)



Incident reports are completed by the Moore County Sheriff's Office for the purpose of documenting crime, lost or found property, and other incidents. If the incident occurs in a local municipality, you should file a report with that agency (i.e. Carthage Police Department, Southern Pines Police Department, Aberdeen Police Department, etc.) If the incident occurs in the county and you need to file a report you may call the Moore County Sheriff's Office at 910-947-2931 or come by the Sheriff's Office Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m.



The Moore County Sheriff's Office currently offers safety education classes to civic organizations, boy scouts, women's organizations, church groups, and home health professionals. If you are interested in scheduling a class, call the Sheriff’s Office at 910-947-2931.

Another great resource is the Hometown Security page which includes existing incident-preparedness tools as well as new resources including a fact sheet to help direct small and mid-sized businesses to free tools and resources. The webpage was created to assist in the outreach efforts to communities nationwide, to reach businesses that attract large numbers of people, including but not limited to places of worship, restaurants, grocery stores, and other venues that enable communities to thrive.

The Moore County Sheriff’s Office also offers Community Watch Programs for neighborhoods and small communities. 



Subjects convicted of certain crimes in North Carolina are required to register as sex offenders with their local Sheriff's Office. This registration may be for a certain number of years or for a lifetime depending on the conviction. The Sheriff's Office maintains a county registry, but a statewide registry is maintained online by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigations. The statewide registry can be searched by county, address, name, zip code or coordinates. The statewide registry may be viewed at the following here.

Close Menu
Back To Top