The Register of Deeds office administers Notary Public oaths to Moore County notaries. When an individual has received his/her notary commission notice from the Secretary of State's office, the individual has within 45 days to visit the Register of Deeds office to take the notary oath of office. The fee is $10 to administer the oath.

The North Carolina Secretary of State issues the Notaries Public their Notary Commission and has jurisdiction to enforce the Notary Public laws.

Visit the North Carolina Secretary of State's website for:

  • Requirements to become a Notary
  • Requirements for Reappointment
  • Requirements for Name Change/Address Change
  • Forms