Planning Board


The Planning Board acts as a review and advisory board to the Board of Commissioners on text amendments, rezonings, and planned development reviews. The Planning Board has final approval authority on conditional use review. The Planning Board works with the Planning staff to ensure the orderly growth and development of land in the County in the proper administration of land use regulations.


The Planning Board consists of nine (9) members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Each member serves a three (3) year term.

Name Term Expiration
Guy McGraw September 2026
Joseph Garrison (Chair) May 2025
Mick McCue June 2025
Farrah Newman July 2026
Ray Daly June 2026
John McLaughlin June 2024
David McLean (Vice-Chair) June 2025
Tucker McKenzie August 2026
Ron Jackson June 2026


The Planning Board holds regular meetings on the first Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m in the 2nd Floor of the Historic Courthouse in Carthage, NC. The following procedures must be followed by individuals wishing to speak at the meeting:

A copy of these procedures will also be available at the meeting.

View most recent Agendas and Minutes.